Unilever (the company behind Cornetto and Magnum Ice creams)`s`` Magnum White`` is Haram even though the ingredients did not mention anything bad
Unilever (the company behind Cornetto and Magnum Ice creams)`s`` Magnum White`` is Haram even though the ingredients did not mention anything bad.
It wrote out to Unilever to ask them if Magnum White was halal even though the ingredients did not mention anything bad.
They have replied confirming suspicions and have been kind enough to send a list of all haraam products.
Please forward this massage to every Muslim you know.
Thank you for your recent email.
Unfortunately, Magnum white is not suitable for vegetarians as it does contain meat derivatives and also ethanol alcohol in the vanilla flavour.
You will find that ice cream products ingredients can differ from country to country because the recipes are tailored to domestic demand and taste.
We at the Unilever UK Careline are happy to provide lists specific to our UK portfolio that itemise products which contain gluten, (ethyl-)alcohol, nut derivatives, animal derivatives and other such ingredients that may be of concern to consumers.
I have attached a list which I hope you will find useful. This information has been provided in good faith using the most up-to-date information available at the date of going to print - 30.04.2010. Please note that the information is subject to change due to recipe amendments and therefore ALWAYS check the product label for the most accurate information.
We respect religious beliefs and practices and are sensitive to the needs and varying concerns of all our consumers. As a company, we take great effort to ensure that these needs are being met in the best manner possible. However we hope that you will understand that although we can tell you what goes into our products, we cannot guide you as to their suitability for individual specific diets.
I hope that this does give you the information you need. Please contact us again if you have any comments or requests for further information.